Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

Where the crawdads sing
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(27)
4 star
 
(10)
3 star
 
(4)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(3)
Published:
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.
Format:
eBook
Physical Desc:
1 online resource., Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 16
Lexile measure:
880L
Status:
RBDigital
Description
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING PHENOMENON More than 6 million copies sold A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick A Business Insider Defining Book of the Decade "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens. Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780735219113 (electronic bk.)
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 16 Points
Lexile measure:
880

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Description
"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."'Bustle "A lush debut; Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose."'Alexandra Fuller How long can you protect your heart' For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life'until the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Additional Physical Form
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Owens, D. (2018). Where the crawdads sing. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Owens, Delia. 2018. Where the Crawdads Sing. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Owens, Delia, Where the Crawdads Sing. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Owens, Delia. Where the Crawdads Sing. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3943cd2f-1973-e482-84ee-c174b5de2862
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeJul 31, 2020 10:36:38 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 13, 2020 10:20:30 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02399nam a22003251a 4500
001rbeEB00716946
003MdPfRBL
00520180820020204.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cnu---unuuu
008090713s2018    nyu     o     000 u eng d
020 |a 9780735219113 (electronic bk.)
02801|a EB00716946|b Recorded Books
040 |a MdPfRBL|b eng|c MdPfRBL
092 |a eBook
1001 |a Owens, Delia.
24510|a Where the crawdads sing|h [electronic resource] /|c Delia Owens.
260 |a New York :|b G.P. Putnam's Sons,|c 2018.
300 |a 1 online resource.
506 |a Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
530 |a Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
520 |a "This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."'Bustle "A lush debut; Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose."'Alexandra Fuller How long can you protect your heart' For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life'until the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
588 |a Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed August 20, 2018).
650 7|a FICTION / Coming of Age.|2 bisacsh
650 4|a Fiction.
655 4|a Electronic books.
7102 |a Recorded Books, Inc.
85640|u https://lioninc.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780735219113
8564 |3 Image|u https://d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net/EB00716946/EB00716946_image_95x140.jpg
945 |c (OCoLC)1048612346